Icy Phoenix

Problem With Pafile_db And Quotes

Article
Reply with quote    Download Post  
Post Problem With Pafile_db And Quotes 

Hi

I recently moved my site to another hosting company, and I found this nasty problem with pafiledb (download page of icyphoenix)

quotes ( ' ) and double quotes ( " ) result in a recursive show off of ( /' ) and ( /" )

Ok, I'm not a coder, anyway I was able to get rid of it in the "long description" (long_desc) of the pafiledb module
with a series of str_replace , anyway, if there is a quote in the title or wherever, the problem reappears and I was not able to fix it in the other files   . The "download/pafiledb" part of the site seems not to be parsed by bbcode

Site is running on PHP version 5.3

with the line

set_magic_quotes_runtime(0);

commented out because the function is deprecated in php 5.3

I can switch it to version 5 (or 4) and leave it untouched, no differences...

in any case I have to set "magic_quotes_gpc" to "on" in order to avoid the problem (the new hosting company has this nice control panel and I don't even need a php.ini ...) , while I've read on the net that this option is better to be left disabled because of nasty scripts that could be passed to the site, so I'm not really happy  

Can someone give me a hint ?

On a side note the uploading of screenshots never worked, I searched and searched and found no solutions (path is ok, 777 etc. etc. , checked everything, it must be something in the code) , the log never said anything, no errors.

Thank you in advance...

tormentor - View user's profile Send private message  
tormentor [ Wed 11 Aug, 2010 04:31 ]
Icy Phoenix is an open source project, you can show your appreciation and support future development by donating to the project.

Support us

Comments
Post Re: Problem With Pafile_db And Quotes 

Has your server enabled the PHP vars allow_url_include and allow_url_fopen?? You can see if they are enabled in your ACP -> Info -> PHP Info.